We are undeniably human #edcmooc

Auf Deutsch? *klick*

To be human in an increasingly technological world, what does that mean? What it does to us? What makes us special, what is so special to us humans? The 3rd Week of my e-Learning and Digital Cultures course is all about ourselves… Film 1: Toyota GT86: the ‘real deal’ advert

<iframe width=“853″ height=“480″ src=“https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/K6Pb_tmPKGk&#8220; frameborder=“0″ allowfullscreen>

The ad alludes to some dystopian visions: when so much is possible virtually, is there anything left that feels real and genuine? A man breaks out of his pixel world in order to feel really alive at last. Even if you’re watching, you can get goose bumps 😉

Film 2: BT: heart to heart advert
is all about real and personal communication.

Those who communicate only via SMS and Email maybe miss out something …

Film 3: World builder

Similar to the Toyota ad it is about simulation / illusion. But in other means, a helping sort that allows perhaps to feel emotions again. Valéria has described the content in her blog „Lessons elearned“ so well – I think there is nothing further I could add.

Film 4: They’re made out of meat

Der Mensch in Bedrängnis geraten durch Technik...

But that was all just a warm-up. In this video from the TEDx series Professor Steve Fuller talks about the interesting question: Have we always, sometimes or never been human? See for yourself:

Additional reading material:

Right now I can not write about these resources yet, as I’m a bit under time pressure. I had a short look at the texts and decided they are worth coming back to them and read them thoroughly. And only then I can comment on them. The other thousands of students (!) have already commenced to week 4 of the course. I still have to work this up today. It was a tough week for me but I’ll tell you more about this in another post.

Remain Human!

2 Gedanken zu „We are undeniably human #edcmooc

  1. I’m glad that you found Britt’s blog! I am fortunate to include him in my PLN as a professor! When first considering this topic, I began to question the relevance for this topic in terms of how we interact with others. Quiet frankly, any study of human geography and history demands that we consider the implications for the questions regarding what makes one human and how do the events and actions in our lives reflect our attitudes regarding the humanity and worth of others.

    I found it difficult to focus on the „Heart to Heart“ clip without placing the male actor (blond) in his role in „Love Actually!“

    • I think his blog is really awesome. I must have stumbled upon it earlier, Britt’s picture looking quite familiar to me. Another frainger phenomena, knowing people by their online avatars…

      For the past two weeks I have not been very productive and so I was looking for some really good blogs to link to – if readers are not happy enough with my few sentences, they can at least move on to more detailled and qualified posts 🙂

Kommentar verfassen

